Provinces in South Africa

South Africa is composed of the nine provinces including the Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, the North West, the Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, and finally Mpumalanga. In accordance with the Constitution, each of the nine provinces has its own legislature, consisting of between 30 and 80 members. The number of members is determined according to a formula set out in national legislation. The members are elected in terms of proportional representation. the most significant district municipalities include Cape Town, Durban, East Rand, Johannesburg, Pretoria and Port Elizabeth which are single-tier metropolitan municipalities encompassing large urban populations, and often include a major city and surrounding towns. These municipalities have exclusive executive and legislative authority.