Find Legal expertise in Australia

The legal system of Australia has nine distinct jurisdictions – the eight states and territories and a federal system. Effectively it is the state and territory laws that mainly affect the day-to-day lives of most Australians. The Common Law system, as developed in the United Kingdom, forms the basis of Australian jurisprudence.  The system consists of a number of courts, including the Federal Court, the Family Court and Supreme Courts in each of the states, all of which are presided over by Chief Justices.

In 2010 the Federal Court had 48 judges while the Family Court had 38. Judges are appointed by the government, although it does not possess the authority to sack them. The High Court of Australia deals, at its discretion, with appeals arising from lower courts. This usually occurs when they are thought to be of sufficient public interest or when there is a difference in interpretation of the law among the lower courts. A Chief Justice and six justices preside over the court. Its main jurisdiction is in dealing with cases involving international law and domestic constitutional issues.

Legal organisations in Australia
Allens Arthur Robinson
Baker & McKenzie Australia
Blake Dawson
Butlers Barristers & Solicitors
Clayton Utz
Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Gilbert + Tobin
Henry Davis York
Holding Redlich
HWL Ebsworth Lawyers
Law Council of Australia
Mallesons Stephen Jaques (Sydney)
McKays Solicitors
Michael Paterson & Associates
Minter Ellison (Sydney)
Norton Rose
Piper Alderman
Roberts Nehmer McKee Lawyers
Shann Family Lawyers
Slater & Gordon
Sparke Helmore
Young & Young