Independent Schools in Australia


Gross enrollment overall: 112.1% (2009)

Primary female-male ratio: 1.00:1 (2009)

Secondary female-male ratio: 0.96:1 (2009)

Responsibility for education lies with the states and education systems vary. There are 11 years of compulsory education starting at age five. The school year starts in January. The Australian Qualifications Framework is a unified system of national qualifications, embracing some 14 qualifications in basic, higher and vocational education and training.


Independent Schools organisations in Australia
Aetaomah School
Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia
Barker College
Calrossy School
Concordia College
Dunmore Lang College
Eynesbury College
Glenaeon School
Henschke Primary School
Ignatius Park College
John Paul College
Kimberley College
Kormilda College
Meadowbank School
Mueller College
Nagle College
Oakhill College
Padua College
Prouille School
Rosary School
Rosebank College
San Clemente High School
Seton College
Tallowood School
Waverley College