Universities and Colleges in Australia

There are 39 universities with some one million students enrolled (2011). In addition to this there are over 100 other tertiary education institutions. The female–male ratio for gross enrolment in tertiary education is 0.66:1 (2009). 74% of Australian residents of relevant age attend tertiary institutions. One in five Australians have attained education up to university level. Australian universities attract overseas students in large numbers. Currently there are close to 300,000 international students studying in Australian universities and other tertiary institutions. There is virtually no illiteracy among people aged 15–24.

Higher Education is central to achieving the government’s vision of a stronger and fairer nation. In March 2010, the government initiated major reform of the higher education system, to ensure the sector’s fitness for purpose in meeting the needs of the Australian community and economy, following the recommendations of the final report of the Review of Australian Higher Education, published in December 2008. The Diversity and Structural Adjustment Fund was launched by the government in January 2008 to promote structural reform in the higher education sector, greater specialisation among providers and better responsiveness to labour markets operating in the local or national interest. Over A$200 million has been allocated to the Diversity Fund to support projects during 2008–11.

Universities and Colleges organisations in Australia
Ansto Training
Australian Catholic University
Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS)
Australian Maritime College
Australian National University
Bond University
Central Queensland University
Charles Darwin University
Charles Sturt University
Commonwealth Secretariat
Curtin University of Technology
Deakin University
Edith Cowan University
Flinders University of South Australia
Griffith University
James Cook University
La Trobe University
Macquarie University
Monash University
Murdoch University
National Art School
National Institute of Dramatic Art
Queensland University of Technology
RMIT University
Southern Cross University
Swinburne University of Technology
University of Adelaide
University of Ballarat
University of Canberra
University of Melbourne
University of New England
University of New South Wales
University of Newcastle
University of Queensland
University of South Australia
University of Southern Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Tasmania
University of the Sunshine Coast
University of Western Australia
University of Western Sydney
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong
Victoria University