Regional & Local Government

Barbados occupies a limited surface area and hence operates on a central government system and does not have local government subsidiary structure. It is classified into several administrative regions under 11 parishes, namely Christ Church, Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint James, Saint Joseph, Saint Lucy, Saint Michael, Saint Peter, Saint Philip and Saint Thomas. The capital city is Bridgetown. For election purposes Barbados is divided into 30 electoral districts or constituencies.