Government Ministries

There are almost 20 individual government ministries; with most possessing a wide range of responsibility. Each ministry is headed by a minister who is charged with the responsibility of the department in question. Ministers are selected by the prime minister, and appointed by the Governor-General. These ministries are then often sub-divided into a variety of related departments and agencies. Major examples include the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Home Affairs and Public Utilities, the Ministry of the Attorney General and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The top civil servant in each ministry is called the permanent secretary.

Government Ministries organisations in Belize
Attorney General's Ministry
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries
Ministry of Communications
Ministry of Economic Development, Commerce, Industry and Consumer Protection
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade
Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
Ministry of Human Development
Ministry of Information, Broadcasting and Public Utilites
Ministry of Labour, Local Government and Rural Development
Ministry of National Security
Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment
Ministry of Police and Public Safety
Ministry of Public Service and Sport
Ministry of Tourism, Civil Aviation and Culture
Ministry of Works
Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture