Regional & Local Government

Belize is divided into six districts: Belize, Cayo, Corozal, Orange Walk, Stann Creek and Toledo – each with their own respective capitals. Each of these districts contains town and city councils, village and community councils and some possess alcaldes. City and town councils are responsible for the management of urban municipalities and are administered by an elected mayor; village councils delegate decision-making to committees and require at least 200 voters; and the alcalde system is used by the indigenous tribes in the south and is a hybrid system of a magistrate and an individual who is the village leader.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Belize
Belize City Council
Belize District