The president is chosen as head of government by the National Assembly following each general election and may hold office for an aggregate period not exceeding 10 years. The president is commander-in-chief of the armed forces and appoints a cabinet – from among members of the Assembly – and a vice-president. Should the president die or resign, the vice-president becomes president until the next election.

President organisations in Botswana
Department of the State House
Office of the President, Botswana