Regional & Local Government

Cameroon is divided into 10 regions: Adamawa, Centre (capital, Yaoundé), East, Far North, Littoral (capital, Douala), Northwest, South, Southwest and West. The regions are more popularly known by their French names. The president appoints the governors to the regions. The regions are divided in 58 departments (départements) which are further divided into over 300 arrondissements. Regional councils are provided for in the country’s constitution. Douala is the Cameroon’s largest city in many respects and Yaoundé, the country’s capital, the second largest.