Government Ministries

The government of Canada is broken down into as many as 25 main ministries or departments, which oversee the administration of key activities. Peculiarly, most ministries are given English and French names that simply mention the portfolio and the country name. For example (in English) the ministry responsible for industry is Industry Canada, fisheries – Fisheries and Oceans Canada, health – Health Canada, and agriculture – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. The main exceptions are the Departments of Justice, National Defence, Finance and Foreign Affairs. The prime minister is head of the cabinet, and appoints ministers for each of the departments to act as political heads of each ministry. Interestingly, the highest-ranking civil servant in each ministry – responsible for the daily operations of the ministry – is given the title ‘deputy minister’, a title reserved for a political appointee in most countries. Overall, the clerk of the privy council is the highest-ranking civil servant, heading the Privy Council Office. This office exists to provide impartial advice and support to the cabinet and prime minister.

Government Ministries organisations in Canada
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Canada Revenue Agency
Canadian Heritage
Canadian International Development Agency
Citizenship and Immigration Canada
Department of Finance
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
Department of Justice
Department of National Defence
Environment Canada
Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Health Canada
Human Resources and Social Development Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Industry Canada
Ministry of International Cooperation
Natural Resources Canada
Privy Council Office
Public Safety Canada
Public Works and Government Services Canada
The Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
Transport, Infrastructure and Communities Portifolio
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Veterans Affairs Canada