Find Legal expertise in Dominica

Legal System

The legal system of Dominica is based on the English Common Law system, with the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) and the Privy Council being the bodies of binding authority. The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court was established (as West Indies Associated States Supreme Court) in 1967 with its headquarters in St Lucia, and is responsible for the administration of justice in its member states, including Dominica.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court comprises the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal.  The High Court has 16 judges, one of whom is permanently resident in the country and sits in the court of summary jurisdiction.  Less serious cases are heard in district magistrates’ courts. There are three magistrates’ courts, with appeal made to the ECSC.  The Court of Appeal is itinerant. The High Court’s jurisdiction includes fundamental rights and freedoms, and constitutional issues.  Before 2003, the last court of appeal was the Privy Council in England.  However, in 2003 Caribbean leaders ratified a treaty establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Legal organisations in Dominica
Alleyne Chambers
Armour Armour & Harris Chambers
Armour Ronald O P Chambers
Astaphan Anthony
Blomqvist Williams Singoalla Chanbers
Bruney David Attorney At Law
Bruney's Law Offices
Burton Gerald D Chambers
Christopher Don & Co.
David Ronan A Chambers
Defreitas & Defreitas Chambers
Ducreay Glen Glenworth Chambers
Duncan G. Stowe and Co.
Dupigny, Ms Cilma A.M Chambers
Dyer & Dyer
Emanuel & Associates
Emanuel Glenworth O N
Felix-Evans Heather F
Gildon Richards Chambers
Guzman Ariza Attorneys at Law
Harris & Harris Chambers
Harris David C
Langa & Abinader
Lawrence Alick
Lawrence Lennox
Letang & Ducreay Chambers
Ministry of Tourism and Legal Affairs
Mrs C Lees
Pestaina Gene C
Piper Lilian
Prevost & Roberts
Prevost & Williams Chambers
Prevost Joan K.R.
Serrant & Associates
Stowe & Co.
Stowe Duncan G Attorney-At-Law
William Riviere Chambers
Yearwood Dawn A