The president is head of state and commander-in-chief of the armed forces, and is elected every four years for a maximum of two four-year terms. Kwame Nkrumah was the country’s first president in 1960. The president appoints Ghana’s cabinet, the vice-president, ministers of state and deputy ministers, subject to approval by Parliament. There are two presidential advisory bodies: a 25-member Council of State and a 20-member National Security Council chaired by the vice-president.

President organisations in Ghana
Office of the President, Ghana