Regional & Local Government

The local government system consists of a regional co-ordinating council, a four-tier metropolitan and a three-tier municipal/district assemblies structure. There are three metropolitan assemblies, four municipal assemblies and 103 district assemblies. The ten regions, each with its own regional minister are: Ashanti, Brong-Ahafo, Central, Eastern, Greater Accra, Northern, Upper East, Upper West, Volta and Western region. Accra, the capital, and most populous city, of Ghana, is the administrative, communications and economic centre of the country, as well as the capital of the Greater Accra Region.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Ghana
Abuka Asedu Kwamankese District Assembly
Agona East
Agona East District Assembly
Agona West Municipal
Agona West Municipality
Ahanta West District Assembly
Amansie Central District
Amansie West District
Asante Akim North District Assembly
Asante Akim South Municipality - Ashanti Region
Ashanti Region
Asunafo North Municipal Assembly
Asunafo North Municipal Assembly
Asuogyaman District Municipality
Bolgatanga Municipal Assembly
Bolgatanga Municipal Assembly
Bongo District
Brong-Ahafo Region
Cape Coast Metropolitan Assembly
Central Region
Dangme West District Assembly
Dormaa East
Dormaa Municipality
Eastern Region
Effutu Municipal
Electoral Commission of Ghana
Fanteakwa District Assembly
GA South Municipal Assembly
Greater Accra Region
Ho Municipal Assembly
Kassena Nankana East District Assembly
KEEA Municipal - Central Region
Keta Municipal
Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly
Kwahu North District Assembly
Lambussie Karni District
Lower Manya Krobo District Assembly
Mfantseman Municipality
Namumba North
Northern Region
Northern Region
Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly
Sunyani West District
Tano North District Municipality
Upper Denkyira Municipality
Upper East Region
Upper West Region
Volta Region
Volta Region
Volta Regional Coordinating Council
Wenchi Municipality
West Mamprusi District
Western Region