The President of Guyana is head of state and head of the executive branch of government. The role of commander-in-chief of Guyana’s armed forces is also assumed by the president. The president is indirectly elected as part of the party list system and is usually the leader of the majority party in the National Assembly. There is a two term limit on the presidency in Guyana and each term lasts for five years. Powers and responsibilities of the office include the appointment of a prime minister and other ministers and the selection of cabinet members, appointment of attorney general, ambassadors or high commissioners and permanent secretaries, and the allocation of responsibilities to various ministers.

President organisations in Guyana
Office of The President - Guyana