Prime Minister

The Prime Minister of India is head of government, and constitutionally the head of the Council of Ministers. The prime minister is appointed by the president and other ministers are also appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister. The convention has been to appoint the leader of the party or alliance or a person that enjoys the majority support in the Lok Sabha (lower house of Parliament) as prime minister regardless whether they  are a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha (Upper House of Parliament). The Prime Minister’s Office, popularly known for short as the ‘PMO’, is located at South Block, Raisina Hill in New Delhi.

Prime Minister organisations in India
Lok Sabha (House of the People)
Rajya Sabha (Council of States)