Bilateral and Multilateral Co-operation

Kiribati is member of the Commonwealth; Africa, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP); Asian Development Bank (ADB); International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD); International Monetary Fund (IMF); Pacific Islands Forum (PIF); South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Co-operation Agreement (SPARTECA), Pacific Community (SPC); South Pacific Forum (SPF); and the United Nations (UN) and its specialised agencies. One of its key bilateral relationships is that with Australia. Australia is the largest donor to Kiribati. Under the Australia-Kiribati Partnership for Development (signed in January 2009), Australian aid is focused on improving basic education standards, developing workforce skills in areas of industry demand both domestically and abroad, and strengthening economic governance.