Regional & Local Government

Malawi is divided into three administrative regions, namely Central, Northern and Southern, which are governed by regional administrators and district commissioners. The regions are further subdivided into 28 district assemblies, three city assemblies, eight town assemblies and one municipal assembly. Assemblies are made up of a political arm, which comprises community representatives that are democratically elected and called Councillors, and a technical arm, made up of the employees that carry out the day-to-day work of the assemblies.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Malawi
Blantyre City Assembly
Lilongwe City Assembly
Mzuzu City Assembly
Salima Town Assembly
Zomba Municipal Assembly