Regional & Local Government

Malta is split into two regions: the island of Malta, and the islands of Gozo and Comino. Gozo and Comino each represent one district, whilst Malta is split into five districts: North Harbour, South Harbour, Western, Northern, and South Eastern. There are almost 70 councils across the country; Gozo has 14 and the island of Malta has over 50, including a city council for the capital Valletta. These councils have revenue-raising powers, although three quarters of their revenue comes from central government. They are responsible for refuse collection, health services, and public recreation facilities. The Maltese government has recently adopted a policy of devolving power to local government. Laws such as the Local Councils Act (1993) have been passed to consolidate the powers of local government and to enshrine their remit in the constitution. The Department for Local Government was established to supervise decentralisation and support the newly created councils.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Malta
Commonwealth Secretariat
Fontana Local Council
Mayor of Birkirkara
Mayor of Mosta
Mayor of Qormi
Mayor of Sliema
Mayor of Valletta
Xewkija Local Council