Government Ministries

The Mauritius Cabinet consists of the prime minister and the other ministers. The Cabinet is responsible to the National Assembly. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister. There are about 20 ministries that make up the Cabinet, and the constitution stipulates that at no given time may there be more than 24 ministries. Key ministries include, among others, the Ministry of Tourism, Leisure and External Communications, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Empowerment, and the Ministry of Education, Culture and Human Resources. The ministries are responsible for efficient service delivery, as set out in their portfolio and are tasked with ensuring that effective governance transpires. In most cases the permanent secretary is the highest ranking civil servant in each ministry. In a few cases the civil servant head is entitled senior chief executive.

Government Ministries organisations in Mauritius
Civil Aviation Department
Independent Commission Against Corruption
Mauritius Olympic Committee
Ministry of Agro-Industry and Food Security
Ministry of Arts & Culture
Ministry of Business, Enterprise and Consumer Protection
Ministry of Civil Service and Administrative Reforms
Ministry of Defence, Home Affairs and External Communications
Ministry of Energy and Public Utilities
Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development
Ministry of Finance and Economic Development
Ministry of Fisheries and Rodrigues
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Ministry of Health & Quality of Life
Ministry of Housing and Lands
Ministry of Industry, Science and Research
Ministry of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment
Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Land Transport & Shipping
Ministry of Renewable Energy and Public Utilities
Ministry of Social Security, National Solidarity and Reform Institutions
Ministry of Tertiary Education, Science, Research and Technology
Ministry of Tourism and Leisure
Ministry of Women's Rights, Child Development, Family Welfare & Consumer Protection
Ministry of Youth and Sports