The President of the Republic of Mauritius is appointed for a five-year term by the National Assembly via a motion made by the prime minister, which must be supported by a majority vote of all Assembly members. The president is the head of state and commander-in-chief of the defence and security forces. The Office of President is responsible for the issuing of writs for elections, and for putting in place the protocol for the government of the day, the leader of the opposition, the Rodrigues Regional Assembly, the Executive Council and also for the opening of the National Assembly and dissolution thereof. The president is obliged to act in accordance with the advice of the cabinet or of a minister acting under the general authority of the Cabinet.

President organisations in Mauritius
Office of the President, Mauritius