Regional & Local Government

Local government has ten administrative divisions – Black River, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis and Riviere du Rempart. The island of Rodrigues forms the tenth division, and is today recognised as an autonomous region, and hence afforded two representatives in parliament. Savanne Agalega Islands and Cargados Carajos Shoals are classified as dependencies. The Ministry of Local Government, Rodrigues and Outer Islands has the task of ensuring that local authorities adhere to the principles of good governance by fostering a vibrant local democracy.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Mauritius
Black River District Council
Grand Port
Municipal Court of Port Louis
Municipality of Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Municipality of Vacoas Phoenix
Plaines Wilhems
Port Louis
Riviere du Rempart