Research Institutes in New Zealand

Higher education institutions and a myriad of research institutes work in a vast range of fields and disciplines in New Zealand. The eight Crown Research Institutes collectively form the largest dedicated providers of science research in the country, carrying out research in areas including trade, agriculture, environment, manufacturing and niche technologies.

Other notable research institutes include, The Bioinformatics Institute New Zealand, based at the University of Auckland; The Medical Research Institute of New Zealand; and The New Zealand Tourism Research Institute, also based at the University of Auckland.

There are also many M?ori research organisations, such as the M?ori Development Research Centre, Independent M?ori Institute for Environment & Health, and Whakauae Research for M?ori Health and Development.

Research Institutes organisations in New Zealand
Auckland Medical Research Foundation
Canterbury Medical Research Foundation
Carter Observatory
Cawthron Institute
Fonterra Research Centre
Forest Research
Hawke’s Bay Medical Research Foundation (Inc.)
Health Research Council of New Zealand
Heritage Trails Foundation
Horticulture and Food Research Institute of New Zealand Ltd
Institute of Environmental Science and Research Ltd (ESR)
Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Ltd
Landcare Research New Zealand Ltd
Ministry of Cultural Affairs
Mount John University Observatory
Museum of Te Papa Tongarewa (Te Papa)
National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd
New Plymouth Astronomical Society Observatory
New Zealand Council for Educational Research
New Zealand Film Commission
New Zealand Institute for Crop and Food Research Ltd
New Zealand Institute for Industrial Research and Development (Industrial Research Ltd)
New Zealand Institute of Economic Research
New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute Board
New Zealand Music Industry Commission
New Zealand Natural Heritage Foundation
New Zealand Olympic Committee Inc
New Zealand Pastoral Agriculture Research Institute Ltd
New Zealand Sports Drug Agency
NZ Film Archive
NZ Symphony Orchestra
Palmerston North Medical Research Foundation
Pukaki Trust
Royal Ballet
Sport and Recreation (SPARC)
Te Matatini
Te Māori Manaaki Taonga Trust
Wellington Medical Research Foundation