Universities and Colleges in New Zealand

The New Zealand higher education sector is substantially-resourced and funded through student fees and government grants. It offers academic programmes from certificate level to doctoral level in arts, sciences, technology and commerce.The tertiary sector also includes 20 institutes of technology and polytechnics, all offering degree courses. Universities New Zealand recognises eight government-funded universities with a total student enrolment of about 182,000 in 2010; namely Auckland University of Technology; Lincoln University (near Christchurch, South Island); Massey University (campuses in Auckland, Palmerston North and Wellington); University of Auckland; University of Canterbury (at Christchurch, South Island); University of Otago (main campus at Dunedin, South Island); University of Waikato (main campus at Hamilton); and Victoria University of Wellington.

There are many colleges of education across the country, and the University of Waikato has its own School of Education. The Maori Education Trust – established in 1961 as the Maori Education Foundation – awards scholarships and grants to encourage Maori into tertiary education. The Government of New Zealand has embarked upon reforming the tertiary education sector. The main objective of the reforms is to produce more skilled graduates to propel the country’s economy. One of the aims of the exercise is to make higher education value for money from the taxpayer’s point of view. The female–male ratio for gross enrolment in tertiary education is 1.47:1 (2010). There is virtually no illiteracy among people aged 15–24.

Universities and Colleges organisations in New Zealand
Auckland University of Technology
Lincoln University
Massey University
Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology
University of Auckland
University of Canterbury
University of Otago
University of Waikato
Victoria University of Wellington