Regional & Local Government

Despite there being no provision for local government within the constitution, there exists a two-tiered sub-national government system consisting of 11 districts on the upper level and villages based mainly on traditional structures on the lower level. The affairs for each district are managed from the capital village. There are over 300 rural and urban village authorities operating as a single tier, with each village having its own council. The national capital Apia consists of 45 of these villages. Village fono or councils have the power to levy taxes in order to support community activities, though there is no method of enforcing the collection of such taxes. They also have judicial power in some matters. The Division of Internal Affairs of the Ministry of Women, Community and Social Development has oversight over village affairs.