The president is the head of state, head of government and commander-in-chief of the defence forces of Seychelles. Elected for five year terms, with a limit of three terms, the president chooses a vice president and Cabinet with the approval of the National Assembly to advise on government policy and act as heads of ministries. Should the president die in office or resign, the vice-president becomes president until the next election. While serving, the vice president cannot be a member of the National Assembly or Judiciary, but the rest of the seven-to-fourteen member Cabinet is made up of members from the National Assembly. The National Assembly is comprised of one member from each of the 25 administrative districts who are directly elected and nine additional members elected proportionally based on the votes received by their political party. Members of the National Assembly serve five year terms and elect a speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the opposition from among their ranks.

President organisations in Seychelles
Office of the President: Republic of Seychelles