Regional & Local Government

The Ministry of Local Government is based in the capital, Port of Spain, and is responsible for the guidance, facilitation and monitoring of about 14 municipal corporations, which in turn are responsible for expanding and maintaining infrastructure, community services and development planning. Trinidad and Tobago is divided into 11 regions: Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo, Diego Martin, Eastern Tobago, Mayaro/Rio Claro, Penal/Debe, Princes Town, Sangre Grande, San Juan/Laventille, Siparia, Tunapuna/Piarco and Western Tobago; three boroughs: Arima, Chaguanas and Point Fortin; and two cities: Port of Spain and San Fernando. Tobago also has a regional House of Assembly set up in 1980 with local powers over finances and other delegated responsibilities. Local government ministerial objectives and powers are legislated by the Exchequer and Audit Act, the Public Service Commission Act and the Statutory Authorities Services Commissions Act.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Trinidad and Tobago
Arima Borough Corporation
Chaguanas Borough Corporation
Chaguaramas Development Authority
Chagunas City Corporation
Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo Regional Corporation
Diego Martin Regional Corporation
Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation
Penal Debe Regional Corporation
Point Fortin Borough Corporation
Port of Spain Corporation
Princess Town Regional Corporation
San Fernando City Corporation
San Fernando Partnership
San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation
Siparia Regional Corporation
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation