Regional & Local Government

Tuvalu is divided into seven island councils and one town council, each consisting of six elected members, including a president. The island councils are Nanumanga, Nanumea, Nui, Nukufetau, Nukulaeae, Vaitupu and Niutao. The island council of Niutao also represents the inhabitants of Niulakita, which is the least populated island. Funafuti is the country’s capital and the only island to constitute a town council. Local administration by elected island councils began after the creation of the protectorate in 1892. A 1966 ordinance established local governments on the eight inhabited islands, which provided the framework for a policy aimed at financing local services at the island level. The passing of the Falekapule Act in 1997 increased the power devolved from the central government to the island councils.