Government Ministries

The UK has around 20 ministries. The Home Office, HM Treasury and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) are perhaps the most prominent nationally. Internationally, the FCO and the Department for International Development (DFID) are better known. Politically appointed ministers who head ministries are styled secretaries of state and civil service heads. Some UK ministries have existed for over a century and are constitutionally enshrined such that their political heads have special titles. The minister leading the Treasury is the Chancellor of the Exchequer; the minister in charge of justice is the Lord Chancellor. Ministers are either members of the House of Commons or the House of Lords.

Government Ministries organisations in United Kingdom
Department for Communities and Local Government
Department for Culture, Media and Sport
Department for Energy & Climate Change
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills
Department for International Development
Department for Transport
Department for Work and Pensions
Department of Health, South Africa
Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Her Majesty's Treasury
Home Office
Northern Ireland Office
Scotland Office
Wales Office