Governments in the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of nations united towards common values. This unique arrangement engenders a bank of goodwill that is unique among international organisations and provides a fluidity and sense of purpose which is shared across the governments of which it is composed.

Queen Elizabeth II is Head of the Commonwealth and in this position she enhances the sense of family and vitality amongst the Commonwealth through her consistent stewardship. The Commonwealth Secretariat undertakes the day-to-day operations of the Commonwealth and is headed by the Secretary General who provides it with management and executive direction.

There are 53 member governments of the Commonwealth, which display a range of different compositions: 32 of these members are republics, 5 are national monarchies, and the rest, 16, are realms in which the Queen’s sovereign power is vested in Governors General. The London Declaration freely affirmed the commitment of these countries to the recognition of the Queen as Head of the Commonwealth whilst also respecting the differing nature of their governments. This diversity of character between governments and the longevity of the Commonwealth are evidence of the fluid, open nature of the institution.

Select a Country:
Antigua and Barbuda Australia The Bahamas
Bangladesh Barbados Belize
Botswana Brunei Darussalam Cameroon
Canada Cyprus Dominica
Fiji Ghana Grenada
Guyana India Jamaica
Kenya Kiribati Lesotho
Malawi Malaysia Maldives
Malta Mauritius Mozambique
Namibia Nauru New Zealand
Nigeria Pakistan Papua New Guinea
Rwanda Saint Lucia Samoa
Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Solomon Islands South Africa Sri Lanka
St Kitts and Nevis St Vincent and The Grenadines Swaziland
Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tuvalu
Uganda United Kingdom United Republic of Tanzania
Vanuatu Zambia