Commonwealth Association of Museums

PO Box 30192, Chinook Postal Outlet, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2V9, Canada

Tel: +1 403 938 3190 | Fax: +1 403 938 3190 Email: |

The Commonwealth Association of Museums is a professional association supported by the Commonwealth Foundation, London. Its focus is on the role of cultural institutions in strengthening civil society. In order to work towards the betterment of museums and their societies, its aims are to: promote professional training and development of Commonwealth museum workers; promote links between museums and among museum workers and between museums and their communities; and collaborate with international organisations and individuals to promote museums. Membership is open to institutions, associations and individuals from the Commonwealth and associates from outside the Commonwealth. There are members in 40 countries.

Foundation: 1974

Officers: President of the Executive Council: Rooksana Omar (South Africa); Past president: Martin Segger (Canada); International Treasurer and London Representative: Timothy Mason (UK); Secretary-General: Catherine C Cole (Canada)