In November 1995, Commonwealth Heads of Government created the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) to deal with serious or persistent violations of the Harare Declaration, which lays down the Commonwealth’s core principles and values. CMAG is made up nominally of nine foreign ministers from around the Commonwealth and is convened by the Commonwealth Secretary-General. CMAG’s task is to assess the nature of the infringement of Commonwealth principles and recommend measures for collective action aimed at the speedy restoration of democracy and constitutional rule. CMAG’s authority to suspend a member country from the association is unique amongst international organisations.