Provinces in Zambia


Zambia is divided into nine provinces, each administered by an appointed deputy minister. Within these provinces there are 72 local authorities or councils. Lusaka City Council is one of four city councils. There are 14 municipal councils, such as Kabwe Municipal Council, and 54 district councils, such as Zambezi District Council. The Department of Local Government Administration facilitates the coordination of the nine provincial offices. The Local Government Association of Zambia (LGAZ) promotes the interests of local government authorities. The Department of House of Chiefs, headed by the Clerk of the House of Chiefs with the assistant director heading the Chiefs Affairs Unit, is responsible for matters relating to customary law and practice. The nation has 286 chiefs.


Our Partners

Zambia Partners