Kenya Bankers Association


Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) was registered as a Trade Union on 16th July 1962 by the Registrar of Trade Unions.      

In its formative years, the main aim of the Association was to cater for interests of the member banks in negotiating terms and conditions of service of its unionisable employees and as far as possible, standardise management practices so as to ensure harmony in the industry.

Over time, the core function of the Association to negotiate on behalf of employers with the union on labour matters changed to include promoting member banks’ interests – in the financial sector particularly and the economy generally – by engaging the government and sector regulator, Central Bank of Kenya (CBK).

As the umbrella body of the commercial banks licensed under the Banking Act, with a current membership of 43 banks, KBA has endeavored to reinforce a reputable and professional banking sector in a bid to best support Kenyans, who entrust their ambitions and hard-earned resources with its member banks.