Government Ministries

There are over 40 federal ministerial portfolios stemming from Australian parliamentary dictat. A lot of the work delegated to ministers is effectively carried out by just 19 departments such as the Department of Infrastructure and Transport, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the Department of the Treasury. A minister is a member of the legislature who has been chosen to work as part of the executive, usually with responsibility for matters on a specific topic (his or her portfolio). Civil service and administrative heads of each department are titled ‘secretary’.

Government Ministries organisations in Australia
Attorney-General's Department
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
Department of Defence
Department of Finance and Deregulation
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Department of Human Services
Department of Immigration and Citizenship
Department of Infrastructure and Transport
Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government
Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism
Department of the Treasury