Government Ministries

Ministers are appointed by the governor-general, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister of Barbados, from among the members of the two Houses. The power to make appointments or transfers to the offices vests in the prime minister. There are around 30 ministries operating in Barbados. Some of the key ministries include the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Ministry of Energy and the Environment, and the Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports. The highest ranking civil servant is the permanent secretary.

Government Ministries organisations in Barbados
Ministry of Community Development and Culture
Ministry of Economic Affairs and Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry, and Commerce
Ministry of Energy and the Environment
Ministry of Family, Youth Affairs, Sport and Environment
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business
Ministry of Health, National Insurance and Social Security
Ministry of Home Affairs
Ministry of Housing and Lands
Ministry of Labour, Civil Service and Energy
Ministry of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Urban Development
Ministry of Social Transformation
Ministry of Trade, Industry and Commerce
Ministry of Transport, Works and International Transport