Regional & Local Government

The Ministry of Local Government provides policy direction to local government, working through such services as Tribal Administration, Remote Area Development and Local Governance. Nine district councils and five town councils, including Gaborone City Council, are responsible for local administration in Botswana. District commissioners appointed by central government have executive authority. The Department of Local Government Technical Services develops and maintains roads, village water supplies, schools, and municipal and recreational facilities.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Botswana
Botswana Association of Local Authorities
Central District
City of Francistown
Francistown City Council
Gaborone City Council
Ghanzi District
Jwaneng Town Council
Kgalagadi District
Kgatleng District
Kweneng District
Lobatse Town Council
Ministry of Local Government
National Assembly of Botswana
North West District Council
North-East District
North-West District
Office of the Accountant General
Office of the President
Selebi Phikwe Town Council
South-East District
Southern District