Regional & Local Government

Local government is intertwined with the central government of Dominica. There are three municipal councils, the Roseau City Council, the Portsmouth Town Council and the Canefield Urban Council. In addition to this, there are also the Carib Council and around 40 Village Councils.  The largest town council is Roseau, the capital, with a population of around 16,000. The second city, which also has a town council, is Portsmouth, with under 4,000 inhabitants. The one urban council – Canefield – covers an area with a population of around 2,000. The Dominica Association of Local Authorities (DALA) represents local government in Dominica. The Ministry of Community Development, Gender Affairs and Information is responsible for overseeing any local government legislation.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Dominica
Roseau City Council
Saint Andrew Parish
Saint David Parish
Saint George Parish
Saint John Parish
Saint Joseph Parish
Saint Luke Parish
Saint Mark Parish
Saint Patrick Parish
Saint Paul Parish
Saint Peter Parish