Government Ministries

There are over 20 government ministries in Sierra Leone. Key departments include the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, the Ministry of Education, Youths and Sports and the Ministry of Finance and Development. The president is vested with the power to appoint ministers to public office, in consultation with the Public Service Commission. Each minister is tasked with the responsibility of ensuring the functioning and effective service delivery of their portfolio. The administrative head and highest ranking civil servant is the permanent secretary.

Government Ministries organisations in Sierra Leone
Kiss FM
Ministry of Defence and National Security
Ministry of Development and Economic Planning
Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
Ministry of Employment and Social Security
Ministry of Energy and Power
Ministry of Finance and Development
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
Ministry of Health and Sanitation
Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
Ministry of Information and Communications
Ministry of Internal Affairs
Ministry of Justice and Attorney General
Ministry of Labour and Social Security
Ministry of Lands, Country Planning and the Environment
Ministry of Marine Resources and Fisheries
Ministry of Mineral Resources
Ministry of Political and Public Affairs
Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and Children’s Affairs
Ministry of Tourism and Cultural Affairs
Ministry of Trade and Industry
Ministry of Transport and Aviation
Ministry of Works, Housing and Infrastructural Development
Ministry of Youth Employment and Sports