Government Ministries

The political head of each of the Solomon Islands’ some 20 ministries is referred to as a minister. Ministers are supported in their duties by a permanent secretary — the highest ranking civil service position in each ministry. Ministers are appointed, in accordance with the advice of the prime minister, by the governor general from among elected members of the unicameral parliament. Ministers may also be selected by the prime minister to become members of the cabinet. The cabinet constitutes the executive arm of the government which is responsible for deciding the general direction the government is taking and advising the governor-general.

Government Ministries organisations in Solomon Islands
Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock
Ministry of Commerce, Industries and Employment
Ministry of Communication and Aviation, Solomon Islands
Ministry of Culture and Tourism
Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Meteorology
Ministry of Finance and Treasury
Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade
Ministry of Forestry, Environment and Conservation
Ministry of Health and Medical Services
Ministry of Infrastructure Development
Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs
Ministry of Lands, Survey, and Housing
Ministry of Mines, Energy, and Rural Electrification
Ministry of National Planning and Aid Coordination
Ministry of Police and National Security
Ministry of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening
Ministry of Public Service
Ministry of Women, Youth and Children