Regional & Local Government

South Africa has nine distinct provinces. There are about 284 municipalities, the most significant being the six metropolitan municipalities which have exclusive executive and legislative authority, namely Cape Town, Durban, East Rand, Johannesburg, Pretoria and Port Elizabeth. Provincial and local governments are recognised in the constitutional framework that supports them as interdependent and interrelated arms of the government.  This recognition has significantly enhanced the status of local government as a key instrument of delivery. The governing principle of co-operative government places the onus on provincial governments to support and strengthen municipalities to manage their own affairs. The South African Local Government Association (SALGA) is constitutionally mandated by the constitution to assist with this task. SALGA is also an active member of the United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLGA), the association that attempts to provide a unified voice to local governments on the continent.

Regional & Local Government organisations in South Africa
Aganang Municipality
Albert Luthuli
Amajuba District Municipality
Beaufort West Municipality
Bela Bela Local Municipality
Bela Bela Local Municipality
Big 5 False Bay Municipality, The
Blouberg Municipality
Bojanala District Municipality
Breede Valley Municipality
Cape Agulhas Municipality
Cederberg Local Municipality
Central District Municipality
Central Karoo District Municipality
Chris Hani District Municipality
City of Cape Town
City of Tshwane
City of Tshwane
Delmas Local Municipality
Dr J S Moroka Local Municipality
Drakenstein Municipality
Eastern Cape
Eden District Municipality
Ehlanzeni District Municipality
Ezingoleni Municipality
Francis Baard District Municipality
Free State
George Municipality
Great Kei
Greater Giyani Municipality
Greater Kokstad Municipality
Greater Taung Local Municipality
Greater Taung Local Municipality
Greater Taung Local Municipality
Hantam Municipality
iLembe District Municipality
Indaka Local Municipality
Inkwanca Local Municipality
John Taolo Gaetsewe District Municipality
Jozini Local Municipality
Jozini Municipality
Kagisano Local Municipality
Kai Garib Municipality
Kannaland Municipality
Karoo District Municipality
Kgalagadi District Municipality
Kgatelopele Municipality
Khai-Ma Municipality
Khara Hais Municipality
KwaDukuza Municipality
Lekwa-Teemane Local Municipality
Lepele-Nkumpi Municipality
Lexis Nexis
Limpopo Provincial Government
Lukhanji Local Municipality
Madibeng Municipality
Mafikeng Local Municipality
Makhado Municipality
Mamusa Local Municipality
Masilonyana Local Municipality
Matatiele Municipality
Matzikama Municipality
Metsimaholo Local Municipality
Middelburg Municipality
Midvaal Local Municipality
Mkhambathini Municipality
Modimolle Municipality
Mogale City Local Municipality
Mookgopong Municipality
Moses Kotane Local Municipality
Motheo District Municipality
Msunduzi Municipality
Mtubatuba Municipality
Mtubatuba Municipality
Nama Khoi Municipality
National Council of Provinces
Ndlambe Municipality
Newcastle Municipality
Ngqushwa Local Municipality
Nkangala District Municipality
North West
Northern Cape
Northern Cape Province
Northern Cape Tourism Authority
Nquthu Municipality
Ntambanana Municipality
Overberg District Municipality
Overstrand Municipality
Phumelela Local Municipality
Polokwane Municipality
Potchefstroom Local Municipality
Potchefstroom Municipality
Randfontein Local Municipality
Ratlou Local Municipality
Richmond Municipality
Richtersveld Municipality
Rustenburg Local Municipality
Saldanha Bay Municipality
Sisonke District Municipality
South African Local Government Association
South African Local Government Association
Stellenbosch Municipality
Swellendam Municipality
The Big 5 False Bay Municipality
Theewaterskloof Municipality
Thulamela Municipality
Tswaing Municipality
Ubuhlebezwe Municipality
Umgungundlovu District Municipality
Umhlathuze Municipality
Umkhanyakude District Municipality
Umngeni Municipality
Umsombomvu Municipality
Umtshezi Municipality
Uphongolo Municipality
Utrecht Municipality
Vhembe District Municipality
Vulamehlo Municipality
West Coast District Municipality
Western Cape
Xhariep District Municipality
Zululand Local Municipality