The President of the Republic is Vanuatu’s head of state and is elected for an unlimited number of 5-year terms by an electoral college consisting of Members of Parliament and the presidents of Vanuatu’s six provincial councils. As a non-executive president, this role is mainly ceremonial and used to represent the unity of the country, however the president does possess the power of pardon, commutation and reduction of sentences imposed on persons convicted of an offence. Should there be a vacancy in the office of president, the speaker of parliament will perform presidential duties until a new head of state can be elected.

President organisations in Vanuatu
Office of the President, Vanuatu