Regional & Local Government

The Bahamas is divided into over 30 administrative districts, including Acklins, Central Abaco, Central Andros, Central Eleuthera, City of Freeport, East Grand Bahama, Exuma, Grand Cay, Harbour Island, Hope Town, Inagua, Long Island, New Providence, North Eleuthera, Rum Cay, San Salvador, South Abaco, South Andros, South Eleuthera, Spanish Wells and West Grand Bahama. Many of the districts are divided further into town areas. New Providence is home to the capital, Nassau.