The Monarch

The executive authority of Brunei is held by the Sultan — whose powers are renewed every two years through emergency powers — and is assisted and advised by five councils: the Religious Council, the Privy Council, the Council of Cabinet Ministers, the Legislative Council and the Council of Succession. The underlying philosophy of the monarchy is that of the ‘Malay Muslim Monarchy’, which translates through the Sultan also being the head of the Islamic faith within the country. The Sultan also holds the major positions of Prime Minister, Defence Minister and Finance Minister.

National Monarchs organisations in Brunei Darussalam
The Sultan of Brunei Darussalam