Government Agencies in South Africa

The Department of Education is responsible for the administration and coordination of education in South Africa across all sectors, but each of the nine provinces has its own education department. Higher Education South Africa (HESA) is the umbrella body responsible for public higher education institutions, and the Council on Higher Education (CHE) advises the Minister of Education on strategic issues in higher education. The Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) promotes quality assurance, audits the quality assurance mechanisms, and accredits programmes of higher education institutions. The Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education and Training (UMALUSI) is the quality assurer for general and further education and training bands in the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

Government Agencies organisations in South Africa
Council on Higher Education
Department of Basic Education
Department of Higher Education and Training
Higher Education Quality Committee
Higher Education South Africa (HESA)
Human Sciences Research Council