Commonwealth in Action

The Commonwealth has established a framework for two broad pillars — Democracy and Development — under which eight programmes are structured. The programmes which are administered by the executive body of the Commonwealth, the Commonwealth Secretariat, are defined with a commitment to adopting a rights-based approach to development, and to mainstreaming gender, youth and human rights concerns throughout all levels of its work.


The programmes are Good Offices for Peace, Democracy and Consensus-Building, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Public Sector Development, Economic Development, Environmentally Sustainable Development and Human Development.