Regional & Local Government

There are three spheres of government in Guyana: central, regional and local. Provisions for local government are enshrined in the country’s constitution. The country is divided into ten administrative regions, forming the second tier of government. At the third tier of government in Guyana is local government, comprising three types of governing authority: Regional Democratic Councils (RDCs), Municipal Councils, and Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs). The ten RDCs deliver services on behalf of central government to citizens within their jurisdiction and also have an oversight role with regards to NDCs. The seven municipal councils are headed by an elected mayor and are responsible for allocating services to those in their jurisdiction under the 1998 Municipal and District Councils Act. There are over 60 NDCs providing services to citizens under the 1998 Local Government Act. In addition there are over 70 Amerindian village councils which have similar powers to NDCs. Councillors in the RDCs are elected for five year terms whereas those in Municipal councils and NDCs are elected for three years. The Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development is the government agency linking various local government authorities to central government.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Guyana
East Berbice-Corentyne
Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
Georgetown Town Council
Linden Town Council
Ministry of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation
Upper Demerara-Berbice
Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo