Government Ministries

The Namibian Cabinet consists of the president, the prime minister and ministers appointed from the 78 members of the National Assembly. Cabinet members direct, coordinate and supervise the activities of ministries and government departments, including parastatal enterprises. The prime minister oversees ministers and deputy ministers in the various ministries, such as the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Finance. At present there are 20 ministers responsible for offices, ministries and agencies. The highest ranking civil service employee in each ministry is the permanent secretary, responsible to parliament for the sound management of a ministry’s business. Permanent secretaries are the only persons assigned to give information to the media.

Government Ministries organisations in Namibia
Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry
Ministry of Environment and Tourism
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources
Ministry of Gender Equality and Child Welfare
Ministry of Health and Social Services
Ministry of Home Affairs and Immigration
Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
Ministry of Justice
Ministry of Labour and Social Welfare
Ministry of Lands and Resettlement
Ministry of Mines and Energy
Ministry of Prisons and Correctional Services
Ministry of Regional, Local Government and Housing
Ministry of Safety and Security
Ministry of Trade and Industry
Ministry of Veteran Affairs
Ministry of Works,Transport and Communication
Ministry of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture