Find Legal expertise in United Kingdom

Legal System

The United Kingdom does not have a single legal system and has no written constitution. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) consists of four countries (England, Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland), forming three distinct jurisdictions (England and Wales, Northern Ireland, Scotland), each with its own court system and legal profession. The (unwritten) constitution is made up of common law, statute law and conventions, and European legislation and may be changed by a simple act of parliament without any singular procedure or special majority. Court structure in England and Wales consists of the Supreme Court, the High Court, the Crown Court, the magistrates’ courts, county courts and tribunals. This structure is largely matched in Northern Ireland. In Scotland, however, the High Court of Judiciary is the final court of appeal, below which are the Sheriff Courts.

Legal organisations in United Kingdom
General Council of the Bar
Kester Cunningham John
Law Society, The
Solicitors Regulation Authority