Universities and Colleges in United Republic of Tanzania

The Tanzanian higher education system is made up of public and private universities, university colleges, and vocational/technical training institutes. The University of Dar es Salaam is the country’s oldest and largest university. The University, as with all public higher education institutions in the country, is semi-autonomous and subsidised by the government. Other notable public institutes include the Sokoine University of Agriculture, at Morogoro, and the Open University of Tanzania, which was established for distance education in 1995. There are a number of private universities including Hubert Kairuki Memorial University, Tanzania’s first private university to achieve accredited status, which houses faculties of medecine and nursing; and International Medical and Technological University. Approximately 1% of Tanzanians of relevant age are enrolled in higher education (2005). The female–male ratio for gross enrolment in tertiary education is 0.82:1 (2010). Literacy among people aged 15–24 is 77% (2010).

Universities and Colleges organisations in United Republic of Tanzania
Bagamoyo College of Arts
College of African Wildlife Management, Mweka
College of National Education
Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology
Eastern and South African Management Institute (ESAMI)
Higher Education Accreditation Council
Hubert Kairuki Memorial University
Institute of Kiswahili Research
International Medical and Technological University
Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College, The
Mount Meru University
Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy
Mzumbe University
Nelson Mandela Africa Institute of Science and Technology
Open University of Tanzania
Open University of Tanzania, The
Sokoine University of Agriculture
Sokoine University of Agriculture
St Augustine University of Tanzania
Tanzania Institute for Information Technology
Tanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Teofilo Kisanji University
The Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College
The Open University of Tanzania
Tumaini University
University of Bukoba
University of Dar es Salaam
Zanzibar University