In accordance with Cyprus’ 1960 Constitution, executive power is vested in the president. The president is elected, by universal suffrage, for a term of five years.

In order to ensure a balance of power between Greek and Turkish Cypriots, the Constitution decrees that the position of the president be filled by a Greek Cypriot and the vice-president by a Turkish Cypriot. However, the office of vice-president has remained vacant since the early 1960s.

Responsibilities of the president include representing the Republic of Cyprus in all its official functions, appointing and setting the agenda for the Council of Ministers, and signing the credentials of diplomatic envoys.

President organisations in Cyprus
Presidency of the Republic of Cyprus